– My mother taught me to love poetry

On 22 August 2019 my mother passed away. Two days before her 92nd birthday. She was part of our lives for a very long time, especially for me, being the eldest of her children.

In memoriam Franske Persijn – Jorritsma

She taught me to love litterature and poems alike. She was my personal coach and following her advise I won prices at declamation competitions. Even with two poems by Jacques Prévert, in French.

Our childhood was filled with the stories by the Dutch writer Annie M.G. Schmidt with her splendid sense of humour. But my mother appreciated other poets just as much. In her cupboard I found anthologies of poetry, even in the Frisian language and South-African.

Until her last days she was member of a small group which shared poems and read them to eachother. At the very end, they visited her at her place, because she couldn’t go out anymore.

F. Persijn – Jorritsma
1927 – 2019

During the week preceding her passing, Eric and I visited her every day. She was very clear of mind, gentile and had an interest in us, our children and grand children. I read verses for hear and parts of entries in my “Poetry Album”, like the poem she wrote on the 4th of March 1964. This poem finds its base in the Bible, the first lettre to the Corinthians, verse 13. During my reading she looked at me intensely. Afterward she recited this poem “How great love is” by Harriet Laurey all by heart!

Eric composed a videoclip for the ceremony last Friday, 31 August. He edited photos of my mother and our family into the already existing video in which our MaGMa Trio performs “Eternal Source of Light Divine” by G.F. Handel. I’d like to ask your special attention for the photos where I read to her from the “Poetry Album” and the blue Bible.

During the ceremony I sang part of “Swing low sweet chariot”, a song that ran through my mind during the night she passed … I sang it every day since.

The picture of flowers she appreciated so much

Marijke Persijn

– Ma mère m’a appris à aimer la poésie

Le 22 août 2019, ma mère, Franske Persijn-Jorritsma, est décédée. Deux jours avant son  92e anniversaire. Elle est restée avec nous très longtemps. Surtout avec moi, qui étais l’enfant aîné.

In memoriam Franske Persijn – Jorritsma

Elle m’a appris  à aimer des textes littéraires et des poèmes. Elle était ma coach personnelle et ainsi, j’ai gagné des prix lors de concours de déclamation. Et même avec deux poèmes en français de Jacques Prévert.

Notre enfance fut une belle période avec l’auteure néerlandaise Annie M.G. Schmidt qui possédait un humour splendide. Mais ma mère aimait des poètes différents. Dans son armoire, j’ai trouvé beaucoup de recueils de poésie, même en “Fries” et sud-africain.

Jusqu’à la fin de sa vie, elle a été membre d’un petit groupe où on partageait et lisait des poèmes. Enfin, on est venu chez elle, parce qu’elle ne pouvait plus sortir.

F. Persijn – Jorritsma
1927 – 2019

La semaine avant qu’elle ne décède, Eric et moi sommes allés chez elle chaque jour. Elle était claire, gentille et s’intéressait à nous, à nos enfants et petits-enfants. Je lui lisais les rimes et les vers de mon album de poésie ainsi que le poème qu’elle avait écrit dedans le 4 mars 1964. Cette poésie est basée sur un texte de la Bible de la première lettre aux Corinthien, verset 13. Je la lui ai lue. Elle me regardait intensément. Après, elle a déclamé le poème “L’amour est si grand” de Harriet Laurey. Tout par coeur!

Eric a fait une vidéo pour la cérémonie de vendredi passé (31 août). Il a mis des photos de ma mère et de notre famille dans la vidéo de notre Trio MaGMa “Eternal Source of Light Divine” (Händel). Regardez la photo où je lis des textes de l’album de poésie et à la fin de la Bible bleue.

Lors de la cérémonie, j’ai chanté “Swing low sweet chariot”, la chanson que je chantais pendant la soirée où elle est décédée…

La photo des fleurs qu’elle aimait tant

Marijke Persijn